Dakshin Dinajpur District Central Cooperative Bank Ltd.

Serving the remotest persons under its area of operation with full sincerity and cooperation


Historical Background:

In the year 1904, a historical milestone had been infixed to promote co-operative movement in India through enactment of Co-operative Credit Societies Act,1904. But the said act was restricted to credit co-operatives only. In the year 1912, The Co-operative Societies Act,1912 had been passed by the British Rulers in India. The Dakshin Dinajpur District Central Co-operative Bank Ltd. had started its journey from the 25th day of March, 1915 and probably it is the oldest District Central Co-operative Bank amongst the present DCCBs/CCBs of West Bengal registered under Co-operative Societies Act. Few co-operators and wise persons, namely, Sri Jnyan Chandra Sen, Sri Umesh Chandra Banerjee, Sri Nalini Kanta Goswami, Sri Suresh Ranjan Chattopadhyay and few others took a pivotal role for establishment of this Bank. The Bank being more than 102 years of old was witness of many historical events in the district. In the year 1942, during the “Quit India Movement”, this Bank had been affected by fire made by the freedom fighters. Bank was also serving common people during “Mukti Andolon” of Bangladesh in the year 1972 which made intense effect throughout the district. In the year 1971, Bank got its first Executive Officer deputed by the Govt. of West Bengal. The State Govt. holds a part of share capital of the Bank. Bank has also got financial assistance from the State Govt. and as well as from NABARD. Bank got its license from the Reserve Bank of India during the year 2011. Now, this Bank has been rendering modern banking services and facilities to its valuable individual customers as well as member societies at its level best.


Area of Operation:

With the help of its member societies and its won branches this Bank has been trying to serve the remotest persons under its area of operation with full sincerity and cooperation. Presently the Bank has its Head Office at Balurghat along with its Main Branch and other eight branches at Gangarampur(Estd.1968), Tapan(Estd.2001), Kumarganj(Estd.2002), Patiram(Estd.2002), Hili(Estd.2002), Balurghat Evening Branch(Estd.2001),Gofanagar(Estd.2019) & Gurail(Estd.2019) in Dakshin Dinajpur District.

Customer Base:

Valuable individual customers and member societies have made financial pillars of this Bank. Farmers, Self Help Groups, Salary Account Holders, Businessmen, Senior Citizens, youths and students, institutions, affiliated societies and others – a myriad customer base made this Bank what it is today. Presently the Bank has  61 nos. of PACS, 5 nos. of LAMPS, 83 nos. of ECCS, 37 nos. of Labour Co-op. Societies, 22 nos. of Engineers Co-op. Societies, 3 nos. of Weavers Co-operatives, 3 nos. of Mahila Co-operatives and 10 nos. of SHG Sangha Co-operatives and few other socities as its member societies. The Bank has nearly 51 thousand nos. of individual customers’ accounts. As on 31/03/2017 this Bank has accumulated its deposits amounting to Rs.257 Crore and disbursed loans amounting to Rs.182.69 Crore including agricultural loan amounting to Rs.64.03 crore.

Social Concerns:

This Bank always tries to promote co-operative principles through its services. The Bank facilitates to develop financial health of farmers by offering agricultural credit through PACS, to promote woman empowerment by making themselves self-reliant through SHGs, Mahila Co-operatives, SHG Sangha Co-operatives etc. The Bank also encourages to generate employment for unemployed youth by offering advances towards Labour and Engineers’ Co-op. Societies. The Bank is also concerned about land less farmers and offers KCC Loans by promoting Joint Liability Groups (JLGs) and propagates famers education, skill development programs through Farmers’ Clubs. This Bank has also rendered its services and extended its hands of help for common people during natural disasters and adverse situations faced by them.